You are here

FIS World Cup

Who: The Canadian Alpine Ski Team and the Canadian Ski Cross Team

Where: Across the globe

When: Multiple events between the end of October and the middle of March

2014-15 alpine World Cup schedule
2014-15 ski cross World Cup schedule

What’s at stake: The FIS World Cup is the highest level of competition in alpine and ski cross, alongside the Olympic Games and biennial world championships.

On the World Cup circuit, athletes compete on the fastest, steepest and most challenging courses in the world.

At every race, points are awarded to the top-30 finishers: 100 points for the winner, 80 for second, 60 for third descending to one point for the 30th-place finisher. Each race counts towards the overall World Cup.

The top World Cup honour is the Crystal Globe – given to the highest-ranked athlete in each discipline and overall, at the end of the season. Some ski experts believe winning a Crystal Globe is the greatest achievement in skiing as it requires top performances all season long instead of just in one race.

Quick fact: The first alpine World Cup season took place in 1967, and Canada’s Nancy Greene was the overall women’s winner.

Canada’s World Cup Crystal Globe winners:
Marielle Thompson, ski cross, 2012 – Read Marielle Thompson's bio
Erik Guay, super-G, 2010 – Read Erik Guay's bio
Steve Podborski, downhill, 1982
Nancy Greene, overall and giant slalom, 1967 and 1968

Get involved:  Help put Canadian athletes on the podium by making a donation or by joining Alpine Canada's Podium Club.