You are here

Ben Thomsen

Alpin

L’émergence de Thomsen comme skieur de Coupe du monde n’aurait été possible sans une bonne dose de persévérance et croyance en lui. Sans équipe, il a occupé plusieurs emplois d’été en construction et dans le domaine de l’aménagement paysager pour poursuivre son rêve de joindre les rangs de l’élite. Il a décroché quatre tops 20 en Coupe du monde et aux Championnats du monde en 2010-2011 et sa récompense a été d’être nommé à l’Équipe canadienne de ski alpin. Connu pour sa témérité, Thomsen semble prospérer sur les parcours les plus exigeants de la planète. En février 2012, Thomsen annonçait son arrivée en décrochant la deuxième place lors de la descente de Coupe du monde à Sotchi.

Meilleurs résultats

2ième – Descente – Coupe du monde FIS – Sochi, RUS (2012)
5ième – Descente – Coupe du monde FIS – Chamonix, FRA (2012)
9ième – Descente – Coupe du monde FIS – Kvitfjell, NOR (2012)

Classements de la Coupe du monde

(2013-14):
Classement général: 97ième
Classement de descente: 39ième
Classement de super G : 43ième

About

Né (e) le : 25/08/1987
Lieu de naissance: Invermere, B.C.
Résidence: Calgary, Alta.
Ville d’origine: Invermere, B.C.
Club de ski: Windermere
Depuis: 2011
Sponsor: Scotiabank

 

Taille: 5-7
Poids: 176 livres
Skis: Head
Lunettes de ski: POC
Bottes: Head
Bâtons: Swix
Casque: POC

Q & R

Surnoms: Benny Alcott, Black Panther, The Rock Whisperer, Pink Pocster (en raison du casque rose).

Quel est ton premier souvenir en ski?: Le souvenir qui me revient en mémoire est la première fois où je suis monté sur une quadruple remontée mécanique au mont où je skiais soit Panorama, CB.   J’étais trop petit pour monter de moi-même et je me faufilais entre les gens quand personne ne faisait attention.   Je n’atteignais même pas la barre et j’étais assis au bord du siège.  Ma mère m’a aperçu quand la chaise a commencé à monter et elle s’est mise à paniquer.  J’arborais un énorme sourire sur mon visage.  

Quel a été ton moment le plus mémorable en ski de compétition? Remporter la deuxième place à Sotchi, en Russie, en 2012.  Je ne me souviens pas vraiment de ma course, mais je me rappelle qu’au moment de franchir l’arrivée, la foule était silencieuse et ne réagissait pas ce qui me laissait penser que ma descente n’avait pas bien été.   Je me suis retourné du côté des Canadiens qui sautaient tous de joie en délire.    J’ai alors vu que j’étais deuxième et la sensation est complètement indescriptible. 

Quel a été ton pire moment en ski de compétition? Mon moment le plus pénible jusqu’à présent s’est déroulé à la Coupe du monde de Lake Louise, AB, l’an dernier quand j’ai percuté un caillou pendant ma descente.  Je n’avais aucune idée de l’impact et j’ai tenté de poursuivre en me disant que mes carres étaient émoussées ou quelque chose du genre.  En arrivant à l’arrivée, j’ai examiné mes skis et il n’y avait plus de carre.  J’ai eu l’impression d’avoir été floué parce que je n’avais rien fait de mal, c’était dur à avaler. 

Quel est ou a été ton rêve olympique? Je n’ai jamais assisté à des Jeux olympiques, mais j’aimerais pouvoir décrocher une médaille à Sotchi, en Russie, cette année. 

Qu’elle est la meilleure chose que les Jeux olympiques d’hiver 2014 aient lieu à Sotchi en Russie? Pour moi, la meilleure chose demeure d’avoir déjà obtenu un podium là-bas.  Le parcours est très exigeant ce que j’aime. L’endroit est unique et plusieurs personnes seront hors de leur zone de confort ce qui me convient parfaitement.

Si tu pouvais écouter une seule chanson avant le départ du portillon, quelle serait-elle? Ce n’est pas une chanson, c’est un discours inspirant issu d’une publicité en anglais de la boîte Versus qui débute par  « Here's the thing that makes life so interesting: the Theory of Evolution claims that ‘only the strong shall survive.’ Maybe so, maybe so. But the Theory of Competition says, ‘Just because they're the strong doesn't mean they can't get their asses kicked. » et elle continue en mentionnant les outsiders et les autres aspects de la compétition. Elle vient me chercher.  

Si tu pouvais réunir trois personnes dans le monde, vivantes ou décédées, à l’une de tes courses, qui seraient-elles et pourquoi? J’amènerais ma grand-mère ou MoMo, décédée il y a quelques années de cela.  Elle adorait voyager dans le monde entier.  J’amènerais aussi une de mes anciennes copines, Evann Parker, décédée en 2011 de la leucémie.

Quel talent ou aptitude que tu possèdes qui surprendra les fans?  Je sais faire du crochet.  Je confectionne de beaux chapeaux. 

S’il te restait un jour à vivre, comment le passerais-tu? Je le passerais dans ma ville natale à Invermere, CB, à faire tout ce que je faisais jeune ce qui signifie tous les sports que vous pouvez imaginer. 

Si tu étais en affaires ou en formation de carrière autre que le ski de compétition, quel domaine choisirais-tu? Certain à 110% que je ferais le saut en course de GP de moto.  Cela me fascine et j’ai toujours voulu courser à ce niveau.  Je fais un peu de compétition en piste quand j’en ai la chance et ce sport est naturel pour moi.  J’en raffole. 

Quand je ne skie pas, vous pouvez probablement me retrouver…. en train de jouer au golf, de faire du kitesurf, de la course de moto, de sauter d’une falaise, sur un bateau ou à organiser un BBQ. 

Qu’a ta ville à offrir de meilleur? Le mélange parfait d’un milieu calme et animé. 

Nomme la chose la plus surprenante que l’on retrouve dans ta valise quand tu voyages, explique: Quand ma MoMo (grand-mère) est décédée il y a de cela quelques années.  J’ai hérité de ses lunettes de ski.  Elle adorait le ski et voyager pour découvrir de nouveaux endroits.   Elle voulait parcourir le monde entier.   Je trimballe ses lunettes de ski avec moi partout où je vais pour en quelque sorte l’avoir près de moi et lui faire visiter le monde. 

Décris-nous ton aliment ou ta boisson de prédilection pendant la saison de compétition. Le vin et la nourriture en Italie sont incroyables.  Le tiramisu est imbattable à Bormio. 

Si tu pouvais concevoir ton propre endroit dans le monde pour une Coupe du monde, quel serait-il? Sans équivoque, Panorama, CB.  Je crois que c’est la plus belle montagne.  Je rêve d’une Coupe du monde à cet endroit depuis ma plus tendre enfance et mon imagination me permet aussi de visualiser où se situerait la piste.   Panorama serait un site formidable pour une Coupe du monde.  

Où se trouve ton endroit préféré pour courser ou t’entraîner? Kitzbühel, en Autriche, est mon arrêt de la Coupe du monde préféré.  Selon moi, c’est la piste la plus amusante qui vous garde aux aguets et exige un bon contrôle du début à la fin.   Pour l’entraînement, Panorama, CB.  L’endroit offre les conditions les plus constantes. 

Si tu pouvais détenir un super pouvoir, quel serait-il? J’aimerais être le super héros Iron Man.  Il est riche, possède un complet indestructible et peut se déplacer rapidement d’un endroit à l’autre.

Si tu pouvais bâtir ta maison de rêve dans le monde, où serait-elle située? Je souhaiterais une demeure près du Lac Windermere à Invermere, CB.  Je n’ai jamais vu un lieu que j’aime autant.  C’est un site qui comprend tout ce que j’aime.  

Qui admires-tu dans le sport? J’admire vraiment Valentino Rossi, coureur de GP Moto.   Il est impliqué dans le sport depuis longtemps et demeure l’un des deux gars à détenir plus de 100 victoires en GP Moto.  Il est dans la trentaine et course contre des gars plus jeunes et il le fait encore avec passion.  Il est extrêmement talentueux, calme, mais sur une moto,  c’est un démon et je crois que nous partageons plusieurs qualités.  

 

 

Tous les résultats

COUPE DU MONDE

Podiums
2ième – Descente – Sochi, RUS (fév. 2012)

Résultats parmi les 20 premiers
12ième - Descente - Kitzbuehel, AUT (jan. 2014)
17ième - Descente - Kitzbuehel, AUT (jan. 2013)
12ième - Descente - Wengen, SUI (jan. 2013)
15ième - Descente- Bormio, ITA (déc. 2012)
16ième – Descente – Beaver Creek, ÉU (nov. 2012)
10ième – Descente – Schladming, AUT (mars 2012)
9ième – Descente – Kvitfjell, NOR (mars 2012)
5ième – Descente – Chamonix, FRA (fév. 2012)
11ième – Descente – Chamonix, FRA (fév. 2012)
18ième – Descente – Kvitfjell, NOR (mars 2011)
16ième – Descente – Val Gardena-Groeden, ITA (déc. 2010)

OLYMPIQUES

Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2014 à Sotchi, RUS
19ième - Descente 

NATIONAUX

Championnats canadiens 
Champion canadien – Super G – Whistler, C.-B. (mars 2014) 

AUTRES

Championnats du monde
17ième – Descente – Schladming, AUT (fév. 2013)
19ième – Super G – Schladming, AUT (fév. 2013)
18ième – Descente – Garmisch-Partenkirchen, ALL (fév. 2011)
19ième – Super G – Garmisch-Partenkirchen, ALL (fév. 2011)

Coupe Nor-Am
Résultats parmi les 10 premiers
7ième - Super G - Nakiska, AB (mars 2013)
8ième – Super G – Aspen, ÉU (fév. 2011)
10ième – Descente – Aspen, ÉU (fév. 2011)
3ième – Descente – Lake Louise, AB (déc. 2010)
6ième – Descente – Aspen, ÉU (fév. 2010)
6ième – Descente – Aspen, ÉU (fév. 2010)
4ième – Super G – Aspen, ÉU (fév. 2010)
9ième – Super G – Panorama, C.-B. (déc. 2009)
9ième – Descente – Lake Louise, AB (déc. 2009)
9ième – Super G – Apex, C.-B. (fév. 2007)

January 25 2014. (photo/Alessandro Trovati-Pentaphoto)
Ski World Cup 2013-2014Ben Thomsen competes on the downhill track in Kitzbuehel, AUTFebruary 28 2014.
(photo/Alessandro Trovati-Pentaphoto)Thomsen rounding a gate during the downhill in Kvitfjell, NORFeb. 2013 (Pentaphoto/Ale Trovati)Ben Thomsen focuses on the task at hand during the men's super-G at the 2013 world championships. Thomsen finished 19th.Feb. 2013 (Pentaphoto/Elvis Piazzi)Ben Thomsen catches air in the world championships men's super-G in Schladming, Austria.Feb. 2013 (Pentaphoto/Ale Trovati)Ben Thomsen takes a corner in tight form in the men's downhill at world championships in Schladming, Austria, where he finished 17th.Feb. 2013 (Pentaphoto/Elvis Piazzi)Ben Thomsen looks ahead to the next turn in the men's downhill at the 2013 world championships in Schladming, Austria.

Ben Thomsen

Alpine

Thomsen’s emergence as a World Cup star would not have been possible without great perseverance and self-belief. With no team, no coach and no sponsors, he worked a series of construction and landscaping jobs to keep chasing his dream of joining the ranks of the elite. He had four top-20 World Cup and world championship results in 2010-11 and got his reward when he was named to the Canadian Alpine Ski Team in the spring of 2011. Technically-gifted and known for being fearless, the Invermere, B.C., native seems to thrive on the world's most challenging courses. In February 2012, Thomsen announced his arrival as a major talent with a second-place finish in a World Cup downhill in Sochi, Russia.

 
 
Home / Athletes / Ben Thomsen

Top Results

2nd – Downhill – FIS World Cup – Sochi, RUS (2012)
5th – Downhill – FIS World Cup – Chamonix, FRA (2012)
9th – Downhill – FIS World Cup – Kvitfjell, NOR (2012)

World Cup rankings

(2013-14):
Overall: 97th
Downhill: 39th
Super-G: 43rd

Birth date: 25/08/1987
Birth place:
Invermere, B.C.
Residence:
Calgary, Alta.
Hometown:
Invermere, B.C.
Ski club: Windermere
Made team: 2011
Sponsor: Scotiabank
Height: 5-7
Weight: 176 pounds
Skis: Head
Boots: Head
Poles: Swix
Helmet: POC
Goggles: POC

Nicknames: Benny Alcott, Black Panther, The Rock Whisperer, Pink Pocster (because of his pink helmet).

First memory of skiing: The memory that stands out is the first time I ever rode the quad chair on my home hill, Panorama, B.C. I was too small to go by myself, so I snuck on when no one was looking. I couldn’t even reach the bar and I was sitting right on the edge of the seat. My mom saw what happened right when the chair left the loading area, and she panicked. I had the biggest smile on my face.

Best moment in ski racing: Winning second place in Sochi, Russia, in 2012. I don’t actually remember much of the run, but I do remember that when I crossed the finish line, the crowd was really quiet and not really doing anything, so right away I assumed I had a bad run. Then I looked over at the Canadian guys, and everyone was jumping up and down going nuts. I saw that I was second, and it was just the most indescribable feeling.

Worst moment in ski racing: The toughest thing to deal with so far was at the Lake Louise, Alta. World Cup last year when I hit a rock during my run. I had no idea I had hit it, and kept trying to ski, thinking the edges of my skis were too dull or something. But when I got to the finish I looked at my ski and the whole edge was gone. I just felt so 

What is your Olympic dream? I’ve never been to an Olympics, but I would like to medal in Sochi, Russia this year.

What is the best thing about having the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia? For me, the best thing is that I’ve already got a podium there. It’s a really tough course, which is something that I like. It’s unique and a lot of people will be out of their element, which is something I’m comfortable with.

If you could listen to one song before leaving the start gate, what would it be? It’s not a song, but an inspirational speech. It’s from a Versus commercial and it starts with. “Here's the thing that makes life so interesting: the Theory of Evolution claims that ‘only the strong shall survive.’ Maybe so, maybe so. But the Theory of Competition says, ‘Just because they're the strong doesn't mean they can't get their asses kicked.’” It goes on to talk about underdogs and other aspects of competition. It resonates with me.

If you could bring any three people in the world - living or from the past - to one of your races, who would they be? I would bring my grandma, or MoMo, who passed away a few years ago. She loved to travel the world. I would also bring a past girlfriend of mine, Evann Parker, who passed away in 2011 from leukemia.

Hidden talent: I know how to crochet! I make sweet hats.

If you had just one day left to live, how would you spend it? I would spend it in my hometown, Invermere, B.C., doing everything and anything I did when I grew up, which means mostly any sport you can imagine.

If you could own a business or be trained in any career other than ski racing, what would you choose? I would 110% move over to Moto GP racing. I’m fascinated with it, and have always wanted to do it at that level. I race a little bit on the track when I can, and it just feels so natural to me. I love it.

When I’m not skiing, you can probably find me: Golfing, kite boarding, racing motorcycles, cliff jumping, boating, or having a BBQ.

What’s the best thing about your hometown? It’s the perfect mix of quiet and busy.

Name the most surprising thing in your suitcase when you’re on the road:  When my MoMo (grandma) passed away a few years ago, I inherited her ski goggles. She loved skiing and travelling to new places, and wanted to someday travel the globe. I take her ski goggles with me everywhere I go as a way to keep her with me and to show her the world.

Describe your favourite thing to eat or drink during race season: The wine and food from Italy is pretty amazing. The tiramisu in Bormio can’t be beat.

If you could design your own World Cup spot anywhere in the world, where would it be? Hands down, Panorama, B.C. I think it’s the best mountain. I’ve dreamt about having a World Cup there since I was a kid, and sometimes let my imagination run wild thinking of where the track could go. Panorama would be an amazing venue for a World Cup.

Where is your favourite place to race or train? Kitzbuhel, Austria, is my favourite stop on the World Cup. To me it’s the most fun track – you live on the edge of control almost the entire way down. To train, Panorama, B.C. It has the best, most consistent conditions.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be? I would want to be the superhero Iron Man. He’s rich, he has a suit that’s indestructible, and he can get places really quickly.

If you could build your dream home anywhere in the world, where would it be? I’d like a place on Lake Windermere in Invermere, B.C. I’ve never found somewhere that I love more. It has everything.

What’s the funniest thing you’ve seen a teammate do while on the road? Trevor Philp giving a speech at Trevor White’s retirement party. That kid has a velvet tongue. 

Who is someone you admire in sport? I really admire Valentino Rossi, who races in Moto GP. He’s been in the sport for a long time, and is one of only two guys to go over 100 Moto GP wins. He’s in his 30s racing against younger guys, and is still doing it because he loves it. He’s extremely talented – he’s quiet, but when he’s on the bike he’s a killer, and I think I share a lot of those qualities.

Podiums
2nd – Downhill – Sochi, RUS (Feb. 2012)

Finishes in the top 20
12th- Downhill - Kitzbühel, AUT (Jan. 2014)
17th- Downhill - Kitzbühel, AUT (Jan. 2013)

12th - Downhill - Wengen, SUI (Jan. 2013)
15th - Downhill - Bormio, ITA (Dec. 2012)
16th – Downhill – Beaver Creek, USA (Nov. 2012)
10th – Downhill – Schladming, AUT (March 2012)
9th – Downhill – Kvitfjell, NOR (March 2012)
5th – Downhill – Chamonix, FRA (Feb. 2012)
11th – Downhill – Chamonix, FRA (Feb. 2012)
18th – Downhill – Kvitfjell, NOR (March 2011)
16th – Downhill – Val Gardena-Groeden, ITA (Dec. 2010)

2014 Olympic Winter Games - Sochi, RUS
19th - Downhill 

Canadian Championships
Canadian Champion - Super-G - Whistler, B.C. (March 2014) 

FIS World Ski Championships
17th - Downhill - Schladming, AUT (Feb. 2013)
19th - Super-G - Schladming, AUT (Feb. 2013)
18th – Downhill – Garmisch-Partenkirchen, GER (Feb. 2011)
19th – Super-G – Garmisch-Partenkirchen, GER (Feb. 2011)

Nor-Am Cup
Finishes in the top 10
7th - Super-G - Nakiska, Alta. (March 2013)
8th – Super-G – Aspen, USA (Feb. 2011)
10th – Downhill – Aspen, USA (Feb. 2011)
3rd – Downhill – Lake Louise, Alta. (Dec. 2010)
6th – Downhill – Aspen, USA (Feb. 2010)
6th – Downhill – Aspen, USA (Feb. 2010)
4th – Super-G – Aspen, USA (Feb. 2010)
9th – Super-G – Panorama, B.C. (Dec. 2009)
9th – Downhill – Lake Louise, Alta. (Dec. 2009)
9th – Super-G – Apex, B.C. (Feb. 2007)