Dec.22 2013. 
(Marco Trovati-Pentaphoto)
Phil Brown competes in the giant slalom in Alta Badia, ITADec.22 2013. 
(Marco Trovati-Pentaphoto)
Phil Brown in action during the giant slalom in Alta Badia, ITAdecember 14, 2013. 
(Shin Tanaka/Pentaphoto)
Phil Brown in action during the giant slalom in Val d'Isere, FRADecember 8 2013. 
(Alessandro Trovati-Pentaphoto)
Philip Brown in action at the FIS Alpine World Cup in Beaver Creek, USANov 17 2013. 
(Shin Tanaka-Pentaphoto)
Phil Brown in action during the slalom in Levi, Finland.Oct 27 2013 
(Photo: Gio Auletta/Pentaphoto)Philip Brown prepares for the first race of the season in Soelden, AUT.

Philip Brown

Alpin

Un concurrent remarquable lors des Championnats juniors mondiaux de 2011 alors qu’il empochait une médaille de bronze au combiné, Brown est vu comme l’une des futures stars du Canada. Le natif de Toronto, ON, produit du Club de ski Craigleith a fait ses débuts en Coupe du monde lors du slalom géant du 7 janvier 2012 soit l'épreuve classique d'Adelboden. La saison dernière, « Downtown Philly Brown » a fait partie de l’escadron canadien qui a frôlé l’obtention d’une médaille de bronze lors de l’épreuve en équipe aux Championnats du monde présentés à Schladming, en Autriche. Il a également mérité l’an passé le titre de slalom géant de la Coupe Nor-Am 2012-13.

 
  • Dec.22 2013. 
(Marco Trovati-Pentaphoto)
  • Dec.22 2013. 
(Marco Trovati-Pentaphoto)
  • december 14, 2013. 
(Shin Tanaka/Pentaphoto)
  • December 8 2013. 
(Alessandro Trovati-Pentaphoto)
  • Nov 17 2013. 
(Shin Tanaka-Pentaphoto)
  • Oct 27 2013 
(Photo: Gio Auletta/Pentaphoto)
 
Accueil / Athlètes / Philip Brown

Meilleurs résultats

2ième – Slalom géant – Championnats canadiens – Whistler, CB. (2013)
1er – Slalom géant – Coupe Nor-Am – Nakiska, AB (2013)
3ième – Combiné – Championnats juniors mondiaux – Crans Montana, SUI (2011)

Classements de Coupe du monde

(2013-14):
Classement général: 137ième
Classement de slalom géant: 48ième

Né (e) le : 09/11/1991
Lieu de naissance:
Toronto, ON
Résidence:
Toronto, ON
Ville d’origine:
Toronto, ON
Club de ski: Craigleith Ski Club
Depuis: 2011
Sponsor: Skiis & Biikes, Black & McDonald, JD Barnes
Taille: 5-11
Poids: 190 livres
Skis: Rossignol
Bottes: Rossignol
Bâtons: Swix
Casque: Dainese
Lunettes de ski: Dainese

Surnoms:

Surnom(s): Downtown Phil Brown – Je suis pas mal certain que quiconque portant le nom de famille « Brown » doit immédiatement hériter de ce surnom.  Les autres sont Philly ou Browny.

Quel est ton premier souvenir en ski? Faire l’aller-retour entre Toronto et Collingwood, ON les fins de semaine afin de skier à Craigleith.  Me retrouver là-bas avec ma famille, me rendre sur la montagne et me faire déposer à l’école de ski, ma normalité à tous les hivers dès que j’ai su skier. 

Quel a été ton moment le plus mémorable en ski de compétition?: Courser pour le Canada lors de l’épreuve par équipe et me classer quatrième aux Championnats du monde 2013 à Schladming, en Autriche.  Je n’oublierai jamais l’ambiance qui régnait à cet événement.  Il a été formidable de travailler de concert avec mes coéquipiers et viser une médaille, le bronze nous a échappé par 0.01 seconde. 

Quel a été ton pire moment en ski de compétition? La Coupe d’Europe Kirchberg en janvier 2013.  J’éprouvais des difficultés et je ne suis pas parvenu à percer le top 60 pour une deuxième manche. Je n’ai pas skié à la hauteur de mes capacités pendant tout le mois de janvier et cette course a été la cerise sur le gâteau.  J’ai eu droit à un discours sévère de la part de mon entraîneur de l’époque, Dusan Grasic. Pour quiconque le connaissant, on sait qu’il est capable d’avoir une conversation franche comme personne.  Ma saison a pris une nouvelle direction après cela, il fallait donc que cet échange ait lieu.

Quel est ou a été ton rêve olympique? Évidemment de courser pour le Canada est un objectif d’importance pour moi, mais on ne peut s’arrêter là.  Je veux me montrer compétitif, me retrouver dans la course et éventuellement travailler pour l’obtention d’une médaille! 

Qu’elle est la meilleure chose venant du fait que les Jeux olympiques d’hiver 2014 ont lieu à Sotchi en Russie? Avoir la chance d’aller en Russie! 

Si tu pouvais écouter une seule chanson avant le départ du portillon, quelle serait-elle? ‘Ni*$as in Paris’ de Jay-Z/Kanye West.  Il y a quelque chose dans cette chanson qui m’allume et me détend en même temps.  Les gens qui m’entourent au départ savent que je chante souvent cette chanson en maugréant jusqu’au moment de quitter le portillon. 

Quel talent ou aptitude que tu possèdes surprendra les fans? Ce n’est peut-être pas très surprenant du fait que je sois Canadien, mais j’aime bien jouer au hockey.  J’ai grandi en jouant et au cours des dernières années, je me suis adonné de plus en plus au sport durant l’été.  Ah oui, et je suis capable de complété un cube Rubik… #Nerd

S’il te restait un jour à vivre, comment le passerais-tu? C’est difficile comme question, je crois que je passerais probablement la journée avec ma famille à notre chalet situé au bord d’un lac au nord de Toronto.

Quand je ne skie pas, vous pouvez probablement me retrouver: en entraînement, à jouer au hockey ou à tout autre sport ou encore à regarder SportsCentre.

Qu’a ta ville à offrir de meilleur? Toronto est la plus grande ville du Canada.  Je suis presque toujours surpris par sa taille proprement dit quand je la traverse en auto.   Il y a tant de bijoux inconnus dans cette grande ville.  Les plages sont formidables l’été sur les berges du Lac Ontario et vous pouvez constamment dénicher une rue très cool pour vous promener et découvrir quelque chose ou un nouvel endroit. 

Nomme la chose la plus surprenante que l’on retrouve dans ta valise quand tu voyages: Je crois que je prépare mes valises plutôt normalement. 

Décris-nous ton aliment ou ta boisson de prédilection pendant la saison de compétition. Krapfens (beignes) au salon des athlètes lors des Coupes du monde. Définitivement une nécessité. 

Si tu pouvais concevoir ton propre endroit dans le monde pour une Coupe du monde, quel serait-il et pourquoi? Je crois qu’il serait formidable d’avoir un événement à Toronto, ON.  Le marché n’est pas immense pour le ski de compétition, mais je pense qu’il serait possible d’y organiser une épreuve, les gens se déplaceraient pour la voir et ce serait merveilleux pour le développement du sport.

Où se trouve ton endroit préféré pour courser ou t’entraîner? Colorado, ÉU.   On ne peut jamais se tromper avec l’entraînement ou la compétition au Colorado.  Les conditions sont presque toujours superbes et il semble qu’il y fait toujours soleil! 

Si tu pouvais détenir un super pouvoir, quel serait-il? La capacité de me téléporter.  

Si tu pouvais bâtir ta maison de rêve dans le monde, où serait-elle située? Un chalet au nord de Toronto près d’un lac.  Je pourrais rêver d’un endroit plus exotique pour construire une maison, mais je désire aussi avoir mon propre chalet sur le bord d’un lac où je peux m’isoler de la vie en ville. 

Qui admires-tu dans le sport? Sidney Crosby. Son professionnalisme sur et hors de la glace est une caractéristique que j’admire.  Il est très concentré sur un objectif très précis qui est d’être  le meilleur et d’aider son équipe. 

 

Résultats parmi les 30 premiers
24ième - Slalom géant - Kranjska Gora, SLO (mars 2014) 

Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2014 à Sotchi, RUS
29ième -  Slalom géant 
20
ième - Slalom 


Podiums en Championnats canadiens
2ième – Slalom géant – Whistler, CB. (2013)

Championnats du monde de ski alpin FIS
35ième - Slalom géant - Schladming, AUT (fév. 2013)

Championnats juniors mondiaux FIS (podiums)
3ième – Combiné – Crans Montana, SUI (fév. 2011)

Coupe Nor-Am
Podiums
3ième - Super G - Nakiska, AB (mars 2014)
1er - Slalom géant - Nakiska, AB (mars 2013)
2ième - Slalom géant - Nakiska, AB (mars 2013)
3ième - Super combiné - Nakiska, AB (mars 2013)
3ième - Slalom - Vail,  ÉU (fév. 2013)
3ième - Slalom - Vail,  ÉU (fév. 2013)
3ième – Super combiné – Panorama, C.-B. (déc. 2012)
2ième – Slalom – Panorama, C.-B. (déc. 2012)
1er – Slalom géant – Stowe, ÉU (mars 2012)
2ième – Super G – Panorama, C.-B. (déc. 2011)
2ième – Super combiné – Panorama, C.-B. (déc. 2011)
3ième – Super combiné – Whistler, C.-B. (mars 2011)
3ième – Slalom géant – Mt. Garceau, QC (jan. 2011)

  • Phil Brown@philbrown730 Sep
    RIP #jpauclair - such a sad day, what a legend.
  • Phil Brown@philbrown729 Sep
    @erinmielzynski and I had a blast shooting for the escarpmentmagazine fall/winter edition. The… http://t.co/hKyyGlxo3m
  • Phil Brown@philbrown729 Sep
    @Thorty27 Thanks for having us Scott. Wicked set up you've got there at Crossfit Indestri. Hope to be back soon. Cheers.
  • scott thornton@Thorty2729 Sep
    RT @Thorty27: Honored to have 2 great Canadian skiers in today. @philbrown7 @erinmielzynski good luck this season!… http://t.co/rRSDWSk9vo
  • Phil Brown@philbrown723 Sep
    Happy 27th Birthday to my oldest sis @tara_brown_ - have an amazing day, can't wait to celebrate when… http://t.co/xGjdCGJWD1
  • Phil Brown@philbrown723 Sep
    Perfect way to get my mind away from winter. Colombia, you are beautiful. #beatertan @ Costeño Beach… http://t.co/ZZIroW8emt
  • Phil Brown@philbrown722 Sep
    Costeño Beach, Colombia. My weekend off the grid was unbelievable. To many activities to mention and… http://t.co/n2kjAVSvHg

Dec.22 2013. 
(Marco Trovati-Pentaphoto)
Phil Brown competes in the giant slalom in Alta Badia, ITADec.22 2013. 
(Marco Trovati-Pentaphoto)
Phil Brown in action during the giant slalom in Alta Badia, ITAdecember 14, 2013. 
(Shin Tanaka/Pentaphoto)
Phil Brown in action during the giant slalom in Val d'Isere, FRADecember 8 2013. 
(Alessandro Trovati-Pentaphoto)
Philip Brown in action at the FIS Alpine World Cup in Beaver Creek, USANov 17 2013. 
(Shin Tanaka-Pentaphoto)
Phil Brown in action during the slalom in Levi, Finland.Oct 27 2013 
(Photo: Gio Auletta/Pentaphoto)Philip Brown prepares for the first race of the season in Soelden, AUT.

Philip Brown

Alpine

A standout performer at the 2011 world junior championships, where he picked up a bronze medal in combined, Brown is regarded as one of Canada’s stars of the future. The Toronto, Ont., native, a product of Craigleith Ski Club, made his World Cup debut in giant slalom in 2012 at the classic Swiss race in Adelboden. Last season ‘Downtown Philly Brown’ was part of the Canadian squad that came so close to a bronze medal in the team event at the world championships in Schladming, Austria. He also won the 2012-13 Nor-Am Cup giant slalom title.

 
  • Dec.22 2013. 
(Marco Trovati-Pentaphoto)
  • Dec.22 2013. 
(Marco Trovati-Pentaphoto)
  • december 14, 2013. 
(Shin Tanaka/Pentaphoto)
  • December 8 2013. 
(Alessandro Trovati-Pentaphoto)
  • Nov 17 2013. 
(Shin Tanaka-Pentaphoto)
  • Oct 27 2013 
(Photo: Gio Auletta/Pentaphoto)
 
Home / Athletes / Philip Brown

Top Results

2nd – Giant slalom – Canadian Championships – Whistler, B.C. (2013)
1st – Giant slalom – Nor-Am Cup – Nakiska, Alta. (2013)
3rd – Combined – World Junior Ski Championships – Crans Montana, SUI (2011)

World Cup rankings

(2013-14):
Overall: 137th
Giant slalom: 48th

Birth date: 09/11/1991
Birth place:
Toronto, Ont.
Residence:
Toronto, Ont.
Hometown:
Toronto, Ont.
Ski club: Craigleith Ski Club
Made team: 2011
Sponsor: Skiis & Biikes, Black & McDonald, JD Barnes
Height: 5-11
Weight: 190 pounds
Skis: Rossignol
Boots: Rossignol
Poles: Swix
Helmet: Dainese
Goggles: Dainese

Nicknames: Downtown Phil Brown – I’m pretty sure anyone with the last name “Brown” immediately inherits this nickname. Others are Philly or Browny.

First memory of skiing: Traveling back and forth from Toronto to Collingwood, Ont., on weekends to ski at Craigleith. Being up there with my family, going to the hill and getting dropped off in ski school became normal to me during the winters as soon as I knew how to ski.
 
Best moment in ski racing: Competing for Canada in the team event and placing fourth at the 2013 world champs in Schladming, Austria. The atmosphere at the event was something I will never forget. It was amazing to work with my teammates and make a run at a medal, missing the bronze by 0.01 seconds.
 
Worst moment in ski racing: Kirchberg Europa Cup in January 2013. I was struggling and failed to make top-60 for a second run. I wasn’t skiing to my potential for the entire month of January and this was the icing on the cake. I received a well-deserved stern talking to from my coach at the time, Dusan Grasic. If anyone knows him, you know that he can deliver a stern talking like no other. My season turned around after this, so it was one of those things that just needed to happen..
 
What is your Olympic dream? Obviously to be there competing for Canada is a major goal of mine. But you can’t stop there. I want to be competitive, in the hunt, and eventually working towards a medal!
 
What is the best thing about having the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia? Having the opportunity to go to Russia!
 
If you could listen to one song before leaving the start gate, what would it be? ‘Ni*$as in Paris’ by Jay-Z/Kanye West. Something about this song gets me fired up and relaxed at the same time. People who have been around me in the start know that I will often sing this song under my breath right up to the point of leaving the gate.
 
Hidden talents:  Maybe it isn’t very surprising because I am Canadian, but I enjoy playing hockey. I grew up playing and in recent years I have been playing more regularly through the summers. Oh ya, and I can solve a Rubik’s cube…#Nerd
 
If you could have dinner with anyone, living or dead, who would it be? Tiger Woods. I think he would be interesting to talk to. Despite his recent reputation I still think that it would be cool.
 
If you had just one day left to live, how would you spend it? That’s tough. I think I’d probably just hang out with my family at our cottage on the lake just north of Toronto, Ont.
 
When you're not skiing, you're probably: working out, playing hockey, playing almost any other sport, or watching SportsCentre.

What’s the best thing about your hometown? Toronto is the biggest city in Canada. I am almost always amazed by the sheer size of it as I am driving through the city. There are so many hidden gems in such a big city. The beaches are amazing in the summer on Lake Ontario, and you can always find a cool street to walk along and discover something or someplace new.

What's the most surprising thing in your suitcase? I think I pack fairly normal stuff.

Your favourite thing to eat on the road: Krapfens (doughnuts) in the athlete lounges before World Cups. Definitely a necessity.

If you could design your own World Cup spot anywhere in the world, where would it be? I think it would be amazing to have a city event in Toronto, Ont.. The market isn’t huge for ski racing, but I think if they could somehow make an event out of it, people would show up, and it would be huge for growing the sport of skiing.

Where is your favourite place to race or train?  Colorado, USA. You can never go wrong with training or racing in Colorado. Conditions are almost always superb down there, and it seems to always be Sunny!

If you could have one superpower, what would it be? The ability to teleport. 

If you could build your dream home anywhere in the world, where would it be? Cottage country north of Toronto on a lake. I could think of a more exotic place to build a home, but I have also wanted to have my own cottage on the lake where I can disappear from the city life. 

Who is someone you admire in sport? Sidney Crosby. His professionalism on and off the Ice is something I admire. He is extremely focused on a single goal, which is to be the best and to help his team.

 

Finishes in the top 30
24th - Giant Slalom - Kranjska Gora, SLO (March 2014) 

Olympic Winter Games 2014 in Sochi, RUS
29th - Giant Slalom 
20th - Slalom 

Canadian Championship podiums
2nd - Giant slalom - Whistler, B.C. (2013) 

FIS Alpine World Ski Championships
35th - Giant slalom - Schladming, AUT (Feb. 2013)

FIS World Junior Championships (podiums)
3rd – Combined – Crans Montana, SUI (Feb. 2011)

Nor-Am Cup podiums
3rd - Super-G - Nakiska, Alta. (March. 2013)
1st - Giant slalom - Nakiska, Alta. (March. 2013)
2nd - Giant slalom - Nakiska, Alta. (March. 2013)
3rd - Super combined - Nakiska, Alta. (March. 2013)
3rd - Slalom - Vail, USA (Feb. 2013)
3rd - Slalom - Vail, USA (Feb. 2013)
3rd – Super combined – Panorama, B.C. (Dec. 2012)
2nd – Slalom – Panorama, B.C. (Dec. 2012)
1st – Giant slalom – Stowe, USA (March 2012)
2nd – Super combined – Panorama, B.C. (Dec. 2011)
2nd – Super-G – Panorama, B.C. (Dec. 2011)
3rd – Super combined – Whistler, B.C. (March 2011)
3rd – Giant slalom – Mt. Garceau, Que. (Jan. 2011)